top of page

We Are Not Sisters. We Kiss

I'm quite sociable, my partner, not so much. But because we have a dog, the chances of people stopping us for a chit chat are quite high. And in these small talks with random people, we often get funny questions. And of course our friends ask us some funny and weird questions too.

1. Are you sisters?

This is one of the most common questions (perhaps the most common question) thrown at us. My favorite way to answer this is "No, we kiss."

And I get different reactions ranging from an awkward silence, to Oooooh...and a blank stare, to the person walking away. But there are a few good ones such as "You look good together" and "Oh, that's alright." The funny thing is I think that most of the strangers who asked us if we were sisters, already kind of knew that we were a couple. The dead give away there is that I and my partner both call each other babe. So somewhere in the conversation they most definitely have heard us calling each other that. Maybe they just wanted a confirmation and were just too shy to ask if we're a couple.

We don't mind being asked if we're a couple, so ask away. Don't go for the sisters route. 2. So who is the man in the relationship?

This is the 2nd most common question we get. We're both women. So there is no man in our relationship. As my girlfriend would always say

"If I wanted to be with a man, then I would have been with a man." 3. Have you always been gay?

Aaaaah. Yeah.

That's what my partner would say. But for me, it's a different story. I'm never one for labels. I just don't want to be put in a box cause that's a small space to live in. For this question I'd usually say,

"She is the first person I ever fell in love with and she just happens to be a woman."

Sure, I've had relationships with men in the past, but they weren't serious. You can call me bisexual perhaps. But that's your call. Personally, I 'd like to be called by my name (but of course with my partner babe is what I prefer). 4. You're not attracted to me, are you?

I've never been asked this question personally, but my partner had her share of her girlfriends (friends who are girls) asking her this. She said that it was a weird question. Just because she's a lesbian doesn't mean she's attracted to all women. 5. Do you check me out when we dress up together?

Again, none of my friends have asked me this question but my partner had been. How did she respond?

"No offense, I like women but I don't like all women and I am not some maniac who oggles women." So there. These are some questions we often get asked because we're a couple or a "lesbian couple" as most people call us . I don't mind getting these questions and yes it can get tiring and boring but hey I think it's important that we welcome these questions so people would understand us better.

Recent Posts 
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
bottom of page