top of page

Somebody Saw Us Kiss and Got the Most Unexpected Reaction

As Michee and I were waiting for the lift, I gently pulled Michee in and gave her a kiss (just a smack on the lips) thinking we were alone. But a man walked in on us. Michee shied away from my embrace and turned away, feeling embarrassed. The man looked like he was in his late 50s or early 60s.

“Don’t be embarrassed,” I suddenly heard the man say. “It’s normal.” I turned to face him and he gave me this warm smile. He gave us this piece of advice - that we shouldn’t be shy showing the world how passionate our love is. I gave him a huge smile, maybe I was grinning from ear to ear. Michee, was still a little bit shy.

As the 3 of us entered the lift together he went on telling us that he’s aware that our love is still frowned upon here in the Philippines.

“Give it a few more years, and for sure, Filipinos would realize that your love is a beautiful thing. It’s normal.” We felt so much joy in our hearts, hearing this from an older person. We didn’t catch his name. We bid him goodbye as he got off his floor. It was a short elevator conversation but boy was our spirits lifted. He validated our hope…That there are people out there who understand that love is love.


Recent Posts 
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
bottom of page